Basketball has been growing rapidly in the College over the past 10 years.
The arrival of Peter Pálffy in 2012 saw the College enter a Senior team into the Dublin Schools League and the Schools National Cup for the first time in over a decade, competing at C level.
For the next three years the Seniors were led by Captain Eóghain Kiernan and Vice Captain Conor Fortune winning the C Plate in 2015, the College’s first piece of silverware in the sport.

Eóghain Kiernan represented the U18 National Team at the 2014 European B Championships in Bulgaria. He has since gone on to represent Ireland at the U20 European B Championships in Greece in 2016 before picking up a bronze medal with the Senior National Team at the European Small Counties Championship in San Marino in 2018.

Following on from those first Senior teams, the 2016/17 season saw the College claim the School National C Cup at Junior level with our first appearance at the National Basketball Arena in Tallaght. This promoted the school to B League status for the first time in the College’s history. Notable Alumni from the cup winning team are Jack Hensey, Oscar Brown, Cathal MacCanna and Ug Roland-Onuoha.

The following year saw most of the Junior winners make the step up to the Senior team, joining the likes of Eoghan McHugh, David Nugent, Harry Fay and Lloyd Carolan. What followed was a dominant undefeated league season and the Dublin Schools B League title, completing back to back promotions and A League status.

The 2021/22 season saw the return of past men Eóghain Kiernan and Jack Hensey in coaching roles and the arrival of a strong first year group keen to carry on the growing standard set over the past decade. They got off to a flying start with a nail biting run all the way to the First Year A League Final, the College’s third finals appearances in five years.

The A Division is the only silverware that alludes the College but we are confident with the ever growing interest and talent shown by the boys each year that another triumph is on the horizon.